The Light At the End…Isn’t a Train

I recently got an opportunity to check out, test and honestly review these flashlights in exchange for a discount. I’ve got another couple types of led flashlights that seemed similar so I figured I knew what to expect. What I didn’t expect was that these were a little different than the cookie cutter cheapo’s as the fully focused beam exposes a more powerful led chip and the zoom action is like butter.

What I noticed:

These are bigger than the other 2 types I’ve got and instead of rotating a dial to zoom you simply move the front of the light forward or backward. It is easy enough to be convenient but not overly so in which it would slide back without you wanting it to. The action feel deliberate and nice and not rough, rugged or resistive. I really prefer this option to the turn style as you can focus or widen the beam much faster. If you are going to use this in a tactical situation I would say that is paramount.

Here are my pros and cons:

Pros:
Very bright

Balanced

Nice zoom action, smooth

Quick zoom action

Ability to use lithium ion 18650 or 3 AAA batteries

Crown at the front that would be formidable if needed

Cons:
No belt clip (but a holster can be purchased separately inexpensively

Overall, I’m thrilled at the quality of the lights and am glad I’ve got one to give to my wife for some extra protection. I give this 2 thumbs up!

If your flashlight still hearkens back to the days in which the light source is a tiny, inefficient beacon (you know the one that has the huge “C” batteries) and are in need of another flashlight, I suggest checking these or any other ones that are similar out. In my experience, lights like this last quite a while and even longer with lithium ion batteries (18650 size).
Leave a Reply

